Caramelized Onion Pizza

This is snobby pizza, but don’t get me wrong here – I am not a pizza snob. Sure, I’ve lived in Chicago and had some of the absolute best pizza in the country, but I’ll still gladly polish off a pie from Pizza Hut. I freaking love pizza.

Something I’m not that crazy about – pizza sauce. I hate hot red sauce oozing out from the skin of cheese on my pizza. Ever since I was a kid I preferred pretty much no red sauce on my pizza. Then, one day when I grew up and left the cornfields, I realized there is a whole style of pizza that purposefully has no sauce. My life got a lot better that day, a whole lot better.

This is one of those pizzas. Some places call them “White Pizzas”, and I’ve also seen them called “Olive Oil Pizzas”, whatever you please, there is no red sauce. It would probably be opposite day if you ever saw a recipe on this blog for a pizza with red sauce.

This pizza is light, because there’s no meat (duh), but actually pretty rich and definitely sophisticated. Eat it!

Caramelized Onion Pizza

2 medium/large onions (I recommend sweet or red), sliced thin
3 Tbsp. butter
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1/4 tsp. dried thyme
splash of white wine

Pizza Dough (whatever you like – store bought, Boboli, homemade. I use Trader Joe’s 99 cent pizza dough.)
2-3 Tbsp. Olive Oil
1 cup shredded mozzarella*
1 cup shredded fontina*
1/3 cup shredded asiago*
*OR you can just use the best bagged pizza cheese ever from Trader Joes – a mix of fontina, mozzarella, provolone and asiago
2-3 sprigs of fresh rosemary, leaves removed from stems, stems discarded and leaves roughly chopped
2 large garlic cloves chopped

Preheat your oven according to your dough’s specifications. This is generally around 400 degrees.

1. To caramelize the onions, melt butter with olive oil over medium heat in large pan. Add onions and season with a few pinches of salt and the dried thyme. Cover and revisit often to stir and ensure that the onions are browning not burning. You may need to lower the heat and that’s okay. Onions should reduce in volume by half, become thick and syrupy like marmalade, and be a rich dark brown color. This can take about 30 minutes.
2. Once the onions are perfectly caramelized, add a nice glug of white wine to the pan and scrape up any browned bits. Simmer the wine for a few minutes until it’s reduced to a syrupy consistency. This step may be completely unnecessary and optional. I just like doing it because it cleans my pan.
3. Roll out pizza dough on sheet of parchment paper and brush all over with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt.
4. Sprinkle cheese over dough leaving about a 1/2 inch of dough on the outside edge for a crust.
5. Using 2 forks, spread caramelized onions evenly over the cheese covered dough.
6. Evenly sprinkle rosemary and garlic over onions.
7 . Bake pizza on parchment paper, directly on the rack according to the crust directions. Anywhere from 10-16 minutes.
8. Remove from oven and let rest for 5 minutes before cutting.

1 Response to “Caramelized Onion Pizza”


  1. 1 megan @ whatmegansmaking October 29, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    I’m actually not a huge fan of red sauce either. Like you, I’ll definitely eat a pizza hut pizza, but I love making margarita pizza with tomatoes and cheese and basil!


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


