Books I Must Read, Volume 1

I’d like to share a few serious disorders I suffer from. Both are curiously related to reading, and each disorder annoyingly complicates the other. I am addicted to placing books on hold at the library. This is only a problem because I also suffer from reading narcolepsy where I find it impossible to read more than 10 pages without falling asleep. It doesn’t matter what time of day it is, how interesting the book is or if I already just woke up from a long refreshing sleep; my eyes scan over about 1000 words and I’m out cold.

So I’m in this inevitable situation where I have a stack of 5 or 6 books and 4 weeks to read them. At 10-20 pages a day, I can’t cover a lot of ground. I need to hire someone to read books for me, and then tell me about all the interesting points. If you’re up for the job, send me your information. I can’t pay you very much, okay, I can’t pay you anything. But you should find joy in further informing yourself and someone else, as I pretty much only read non-fiction. Here’s your first reading assignment.

White Coat, Black Hat: Adventures on the Dark Side of Medicine by Carl Elliott

Because I love a good scandal, and this country’s health care industry is my favorite scape goat.

The Hidden Brain by Shankar Vendantam

Yes, please explain to me why people do such stupid things (oh me included, seriously).

Catching Fire: How Cooking Made Us Human by Richard Wrangham

Because it seems no one cooks in America, and I think it’s making us less human and more like a giant walking, sick fat cell.

Waste and Want: A Social History of Trash by Susan Strasser

Because I’ll read the history of anything, including garbage.

Mary Tudor: princess, bastard, queen by Anna Whitelock

Because I’m obsessed with the Tudors (not the Showtime series, that actually royally sucks).

God is Not One: the eight rival religions the run the world – and why their differences matter by Stephen Prothero

Because no matter what you believe, more information leads to understanding and more understanding leads to tolerance and more tolerance leads to less wars and less wars leads to a lower freaking deficit.

1 Response to “Books I Must Read, Volume 1”


  1. 1 Andrea November 12, 2010 at 8:47 am

    I don’t know if anyone has taken you up on this book reading offer, and since I’m in Texas it’s probably not practical, but I do have a similar library addiction! Love your posts – I found your blog through the comments on Joy the Baker’s site, by the way.


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


