Lemon Garlic Pasta with Grape Tomatoes and Zucchini

DSC03866

I generally like being told what to do.

I may sneer at you after you boss me around, but secretly, I’m relieved. Why? Because I am, for lack of a better and more pc word, a pussy. I may know the best way to tackle something. It probably is even better than your way. But, I don’t have the confidence to go it alone, unless we’re playing Euchre.  So give me your plans, your ideas, your set of directions and even if I think they’re terrible, I follow through with what you say anyway. What a terrible quality to have, huh?

What’s so ridiculous about all of this, is when I do actually step out on a limb and skip what you say and do what I say instead, I usually have had pretty redeeming results. Particularly with recipes. Especially with this one.

I tried finding a recipe a few days ago for a pasta with tomatoes and zucchini. And out of everything I found, I was either several ingredients short, or it sounded boring. So I decided, what the hell, I’ll just use what I’ve got and make something up.

This was perfect and exactly what I wanted. A lot of flavor with a little bit of heat. The name is just too long.

Lemon Garlic Pasta with Grape Tomatoes and Zucchini

12 oz. Penne pasta
3 Tbsp. olive oil
1 small onion, sliced thin
3 cloves of garlic chopped
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
2 small zucchini, cut in half and sliced into thin half moons
1 pint grape tomatoes, rinsed
1/2 tsp. dried Herbes de Provence
zest and juice of 1 lemon
1/3 cup of shredded Asiago cheese, plus more for sprinkling at table
salt and pepper to season

1. Set large pot of water over high heat to boil. Prepare pasta according to package directions. Drain and return pasta to pot.
2. In large saute pan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat.
3. Add onions. Season with salt and saute until softened.
4. Reduce heat to medium and add garlic and red pepper flakes. Saute until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
5. Stir zucchini into pan and season well with salt and pepper. Saute for a few minutes until they begin to soften.
6. Add tomatoes and Herbes de Provence to pan and stir. Heat until tomatoes begin to pucker, about 5-10 minutes. Remove pan from heat and add contents to pot with pasta.
7. Add lemon zest and juice to the pot and season with salt and pepper to your taste. Toss well.
8. Transfer to large serving bowl or platter. Top with Asiago cheese.

1 Response to “Lemon Garlic Pasta with Grape Tomatoes and Zucchini”


  1. 1 CookingToday.co.uk September 17, 2010 at 8:51 am

    It made me hungry just reading the recipe. Going to try this over the weekend


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


