Indiana State Fair

No, I don’t want to go to the State Fair.

Gross.

Why? Because I’m a snob. I don’t like muddy dirt paths covered in animal crap. I don’t want a Donut Burger or a Hot Beef Sundae. I’m not in the mood to inhale second hand smoke. I no longer ride rickety, death-trap Ferris wheels. I’m a mother. I don’t want a sunburn.

Thank goodness everyone ignored me.

DSC03646

See, I’m smiling. I had a good time. I think everyone did. Everyone being me, Jeff, Marlo and our friends from Chicago Mike, Andrea and Mira. Surely this was largely due to the paved paths void of manure (for the most part).

DSC03605

I gathered that the theme for the fair was “The Year of the Pig”. I could be wrong, but they were selling pork something or other every 10 steps and there was an enormous building filled with pigs.

DSC03587

I like pigs, and I actually miss eating them. Is that a twisted comment to make right now? Sorry. (mmmm bacon)

And what is it with girls and horses? Marlo was fascinated.

DSC03598

I can’t say I have a history with horses. I mean, I’ve ridden one once or twice but it’s not like it was a romantic bare-back on the beach experience. But I immediately fell in love with these beasts. I didn’t really want to leave the horse barn, unless it was on the back of one. I’m pretty sure I said I could be Amish as we walked out through the doors. This was me fantasizing about giving up electricity for a horse. Powerful voodoo.

The girls sat on a tractor. Obviously.

DSC03634

That was cute. Obviously.

The Goat Mountain exhibit reminded me that I’ve always wanted a backyard full of goats. Not big goats like this one, but the little dwarf ones that frolic around like puppies. Those kinds.

I think it’s important to note here that I don’t like goat cheese.

Here’s Jeff teaching Marlo about the crop that rules the world.

DSC03630

If you asked Marlo what her favorite part of the State Fair was, she would most certainly say “choo choo train”. And by that she means the shuttle train pulled by an enormous tractor that looped around the fairgrounds. But besides that, she would definitely try to tell you about the pony ride. She giggled the whole way around. We did too.

DSC03613

Yes, I will eat my words. Yes, I will go to the fair next year, too. Marlo’s giggles were totally worth my sunburned shoulders.

2 Responses to “Indiana State Fair”


  1. 1 Ryan Libel August 25, 2010 at 10:36 am

    if you do get goats I think they cut your lawn for you too. Fun times; haven’t been to a fair in prob. 10 years. OH the snobbery!

  2. 2 Borislava August 25, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Wow, I cannot believe you don’t like goat cheese. We must work on that 🙂 And by the way, I have NEVER been to a state fair, or to any fair for that matter (just in case you were curious)


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


