Strawberry Birthday Cake

DSC03424

I wish I knew how to decorate a cake. Like actually pipe frosting on in pretty patterns. I have all the equipment to make it happen, but never the time or the patience to attempt it. So instead I cop out and decorate with nuts or fruit or chocolate shavings or whatever else you can accessorize a cake with that happens to not be colored frosting.

I made this strawberry cake for Marlo’s second birthday. It’s void of the number “2”. It’s void of her name. There are no sugar flowers. No Care Bears. But it’s pink inside. And I think that counts for something.

DSC03446

The original recipe on Smitten Kitchen calls for traditional cream cheese frosting, instead I used a recipe I’ve shared here before for white chocolate cream cheese frosting. I did this because I’m not certain I’ve tasted a cream cheese frosting that I like better than it, and I thought that the hint of white chocolate would complement the strawberry cake nicely. It really did.

This was a perfect little cake for a perfect little girl.

Strawberry Cake
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

4 1/2 cups cake flour
3 cups sugar
5 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups (16 oz bag) pureed frozen strawberries (thawed)
8 egg whites
2/3 cup milk
1 to 2 drops red food dye (makes the cake a little more pink)

*This recipe makes a lot of batter. Enough for 3 9″ layers. I don’t have 3 cake pans, so I just made 2 layers and had a lot left over. I recommend following SK’s advice and butter the pans along as well as lining the bottom of the pan with wax paper.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl using a whisk.
2. Using a stand mixer, cream butter for a minute until fluffy.
3. Add pureed strawberries to butter and mix until well incorporated.
4. Add flour mixture in 3-4 additions to the butter and strawberries.
5. Beat eggs with milk and red dye in separate bowl and add to batter in 2-3 additions, and mix only until well incorporated.
6. Pour the batter evenly into prepared pans and bake in preheated oven for 30-34 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
7. Let cakes cool in pans for about 10 minutes before removing from pans and letting cool on wire racks completely before frosting.

Find White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting recipe here.

2 Responses to “Strawberry Birthday Cake”


  1. 1 fattydumpling August 12, 2010 at 7:52 am

    I really wish that I’ve learned how to frost a cake other than slapping stuff onto it as well–but the time will come when it’ll be perfect practice time. Your cake looks absolutely sweet–I made a strawberry cake recently too, it was soft and fluffy and moist—but it kinda tasted like kool aid.

  2. 2 laura August 16, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    oh man it looks so good! I like the more… spontaneous… look anyways.


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


