Ravioli with Pesto, Peas & Tomatoes

DSC03244

If I were Italian, would my name be Emiliana Andretti?

I sure hope so, as that would probably mean I would be related in some way to the racing Andretti’s and I would live a very comfortable lifestyle. Not to say my lifestyle as an Irish Kraut with a Swedish last name isn’t lovely, but I can’t help but wish for Italian heritage if only for the food and wine and Peroni. I love Italian food more than any other. More than Mexican. I said it!

I made this Italian meal for the first time while we were still living with Jeff’s parents. His mother said, “I’ve never had peas and tomatoes in my mouth at the same time.” Then I got to thinking, neither had I! Though they may be an odd couple, they make a good pair. I loved this meal because it’s simple, fresh tasting, colorful, and elegant. Surprisingly, Giada didn’t dream this one up. Way to go Good Housekeeping!

Ravioli with Pesto, Peas & Tomatoes
Adapted from Good Housekeeping Family Vegetarian Cooking

1 pound refrigerated or frozen cheese ravioli (I used Meijer brand frozen cheese ravioli – seriously yummy)
2 ripe medium tomatoes, seeded and diced
1 cup loosely packed basil leaves, chopped
1/8 tsp salt
1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper
10 oz. package frozen peas
1/4 cup homemade or store bought pesto (the refrigerated kind is best)

1. In a large pot, prepare ravioli according to package directions. In the last 4 minutes of boiling, add package of frozen peas to pot with ravioli.

2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine diced tomatoes, basil, salt and pepper.

3. Once raviolis and peas are finished cooking, drain and place in large serving bowl. Toss ravioli and peas with pesto and tomato mixture. Serve immediately.

1 Response to “Ravioli with Pesto, Peas & Tomatoes”


  1. 1 Savina August 1, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    This looks seriously yummy. When I have a kitchen to call my own I will have to remember this one!


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


