Back in the Saddle

July 2010

Ever procrastinate? Set things on the back burner? Let things go a little too long, and then find that it’s quite possibly the hardest thing to figure out how to start back up again? This happens to me a lot with thank you cards. I have dozens of half-written, or completely finished-enveloped-sealed but half addressed thank you cards from various occasions like Marlo’s birthday party, random generous gifts I’ve received, etc. There was some annoying detail that was missing (like a zip code, or how the heck do I spell this person’s child’s name again?) that caused me to set it aside with all intentions of coming back to it, oh – say the next day, but they end up sitting on top of my dresser for 6 months, 10 months… a year! Then what do you do? Send it with a note on the back saying “I hope you didn’t think I was an inconsiderate, ungrateful brat by not sending you a thank you card. Here it is 14 months later, I hope you still remember what you bought me because even though I don’t, I know I appreciated it very much!” Would Emily Post approve? Probably not.

DSC03285

But that’s not what I’m getting at here. I completely abandoned this blog for almost 6 months like I abandoned those unfinished thank you notes. I guess people could say it was with good reason. We were between homes and renovating an old fixer upper. But the truth of the matter is, I wasn’t really busy.  Truly, the “between homes” bit sent me into a unmotivated, uninspired, depressed state that I couldn’t imagine posting anything on here interesting, because I wasn’t really interested in anything I, myself, was doing!

Moving into our new house has changed my soul (don’t roll your eyes at the drama). I’m surrounded by my stuff that I haven’t seen for almost a year. I can walk around half naked if I want, and in a few more weeks when we get all our blinds up I can go the Full Monty, but only if I wanted to. I no longer wake up feeling like a guest. I can wake up grumpy, cursing, rude and disheveled and no longer feel ashamed.  I am home and I am back. I hope you still care.

1 Response to “Back in the Saddle”


  1. 1 Borislava August 3, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    I’m glad you’re back! I’ll be checking with anticipation each day to see what’s new with you and the fam.


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


