Marlo’s First Birthday Extravaganza

Last weekend was the big bash for my big girl. She had quite a weekend. My parents drove in from Ohio and my sister and her boyfriend flew in from New York City on Saturday. Cupcakes were baked. Some were thrown out. Marlo’s birthday cake got baked twice, and ruined twice, before Dad and Grandpa picked one out at Meijer. Not exactly how I envisioned it, but for some reason I was off my baking game last weekend. Either way, we ended up with about 90 cupcakes that were presentable and edible, and apparently they tasted okay, too. But this post won’t be so much about the food as it will be about the festivities.

Marlo got to open up all her presents from my side of the family the Saturday before. Among many cool presents, Grandpa Keith and Grandma Cheryl got her a new “Rock n’ Roll” Horse which she was very excited about for a good 5 minutes. Apparently my mother tells me my rocking horse was my favorite toy for a while when I was Marlo’s age.

Recently Updated10

Remind me to never let her buy a motorcycle.

DSC02210

Party day went off without a hitch. This is to the credit of all the (very) hard work my family, and Jeff’s parents and family put into the party. Lot’s of physical work and thoughtfulness. This is my public thank you everyone.

As expected, the men decorated the tables. I thought they turned out really pretty.

tissuepuffs

My parents brought in strawberry punch and gourmet ice cream from Dietsch Brothers from my hometown Findlay, Ohio.

DSC02270

Everyone was really weirded out by the ice cream being in a box. I couldn’t understand why. I think it’s probably one of the most brilliant ideas. Makes serving the ice cream effortless. They’ve sold their ice cream for parties this way for years – like decades.
DSC02269

Marlo loved getting sang to by everyone.

DSC02220

But she was somewhat unphased by the cake. She ate it with the same enthusiasm as she does a bowl of mixed vegetables and the whole experience was rather anticlimactic.
Recently Updated9

She did find something she did like to eat at the party. Her cousin Liam’s goldfish crackers. She’d look around and make sure she wasn’t going to get in trouble before reaching in the bag and sneaking a few. Apparently she did this the whole time and probably ate half the bag. Thanks for sharing Liam.

Recently Updated8

Everyone was very generous and Marlo got a lot of great gifts. She got her first Cabbage Patch doll, a toy vacuum, and lots of cash. She hasn’t decided what she wants to do with the money yet.

DSC02243

She was very pleasant, and confident the whole time (thank goodness). She really wore herself out. Daddy said she fell asleep on the ride home within 1 minute of being in her car seat.

Overall, Marlo’s first year and first birthday parties were a success. Here’s to many more!

2 Responses to “Marlo’s First Birthday Extravaganza”


  1. 1 pete August 27, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    “Marlo loved getting sang to by everyone.”

    Sang or Sung?

    I probably would change the sentence to “Marlo loved the singing.”

    But I’m no editor. 🙂

    • 2 randomanderson August 27, 2009 at 1:12 pm

      Hilarious that you got stuck on that, too. I sat there for a few minutes wondering what was right, then the linguist in me said it doesn’t matter. Everyone knows what I’m talking about.


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


