Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

DSC02185

I’ve been cooking up a lot of pancakes lately because Marlo loves them. Right. I make them only because she tells me to. I really don’t eat pancakes for lunch 4 times a week. No, it’s not like that.

Anyway, my favorite pancakes are made with buckwheat. I just love that nutty flavor of buckwheat. I don’t particularly prefer my pancakes with fruit in them. My mom used to make banana pancakes all the time when I was a kid. My sister loved them, but I vividly remember gagging on them. Not my first choice.

When I saw this idea on Joy’s blog, I almost got up and made them just that instant. No matter that it was seriously 8 at night and dinner had been done and over with for hours. I waited until the next day. And it was worth the wait.

These really are delicious. They have a lot of flavor and really do remind you of an oatmeal cookie. Because I was making them for a baby, I left out the raisins in the original recipe (also because Jeff hates raisins), and used quick cooking oats. If I were just making these for me though I would use old fashioned oats and add chopped pecans for more texture. I recommend trying it that way. Also, I used a Bisquick base just for simplicity (did I mention I have a baby), but please go to Joy’s page if you want the proportions to make it from scratch and to say how much better of a mom than me you are or will be. Speaking of, you should just go to Joy’s page anyway and read her cute letter to her “Future Husband/Future children”. Okay? Just do it, it might hook you and you’ll become a regular stalker reader like I am.

DSC02183

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes
Adapted from Joy the Baker

3/4 cup Bisquick
rounded 1/4 cup old fashioned oats
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
healthy pinch of freshly ground nutmeg
1/2 tablespoon pure maple syrup
2 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 cup milk or buttermilk if you have it
1/4 cup chopped pecans or raisins or both
cooking spray

1. In a large bowl beat egg. Add milk, butter , maple syrup and vanilla and mix well. Add Bisquick, oats, sugar, and spices. Mix well until mostly smooth. Fold in pecans/raisins and let batter set for a few minutes.
2. Heat griddle or pan over medium heat. Spray with cooking spray.
3. Pour about 1/4 cup of batter onto the griddle. Cook on the first side until bubbles that form start to pop. You can also gently lift up the pancake to make sure the bottom is not overcooking, if it is the pan may be too hot and you will need to adjust the heat. Flip the pancake over with a spatula and cook until golden brown. Repeat until all the batter is gone. Keep pancakes warm by covering with a pie plate or aluminum foil. Serve with maple syrup.

3 Responses to “Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes”


  1. 1 Cookie August 20, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    My fiance loves both pancakes and oatmeal cookies so I’m sure he’ll LOVE these! I can’t wait to make them on a Sunday morning!

  2. 2 laura August 26, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    these look really amazing!


  1. 1 Cooking with Z » Blog Archive » Sunday Morning – Oatmeal Banana Pancakes with Cinnamon-Rum Maple Syrup Trackback on April 17, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


