Classic Brownies

Roll 158

How is this possible:

I thought these were one of the best brownies I’d ever tasted and Jeff thought they were horrible.

What’s going on?

We ate them when they were still a little warm and gooey from the oven. Apparently this contributed to the problem for Jeff. He thought “they tasted like a melted candy bar or something.”

Okay. I still don’t get what the problem is. A melted candy bar sounds wonderful to me. However, I don’t agree that they tasted like a melted candy bar, unless it was a super special fancy schmancy decadent French dark chocolate bar laced with walnuts. I’ve never had one of those, so I can’t really say whether it not it taste like one melted.

These did taste like rich, chocolaty, chewy, fudgy perfection. You know, like how brownies should taste. I just short of licked all the crumbs off of the dish.

Recently Updated5

Don’t worry this time about what Jeff thinks. I’m usually right all the time anyway. Just ask him.

Classic Brownies

Adapted from Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

5 Tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into 5 pieces
6 ounces chocolate, chopped (original recipe calls for 4 oz. bittersweet, 2 0z. unsweetened, I didn’t have unsweetened so I used 3 oz. bittersweet, 3 oz. semi-sweet and used less sugar than the original recipe)
2/3 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. instant espresso/coffee granules
1/4-1/2 tsp. salt
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1 cup chopped walnuts

1. Center rack in oven and preheat to 325 degrees. Line a 8X8 baking dish with foil and butter the foil.
2. Set heat-proof bowl over a pan of simmering water. Add butter and chocolate. Heat until just melted, stirring frequently. Remove from heat.
3. Whisk in sugar. Mixture will appear grainy.
4. Whisk in eggs one at a time.
5. Add vanilla and whisk mixture vigourously.
6. Mix in coffee, then flour and salt until just incorporated.
7. Fold in walnuts with spatula.
8. Pour batter into prepared dish and bake for 30-33 minutes, until a dull knife cut into the center comes out clean.
9. Allow to cool completely in pan on a wire rack before turning out onto dish.
10. Slice into 2X2 squares (believe me, that’s plenty – they’re rich) and serve alone or with ice cream.

3 Responses to “Classic Brownies”


  1. 1 the Provident Woman August 12, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I don’t get what the problem is. He admits it tastes like chocolate, right? And…. Taste like chocolate = yummy, yummy goodness.

  2. 3 nina August 13, 2009 at 7:04 am

    I like this no-fuss recipe!!!! My son will love me forever!!!


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


