Hungry Monkey

hungry-monkey-matthew-amster-burton-hardcover-cover-art

If you have children. If you’re pregnant. If you know someone who is. If you aren’t any of these but you have a sense of humor. You need this book. On your shelf. Right now.

I picked up my much anticipated copy of Hungry Monkey by Matthew Amster-Burton from the public library on Monday. I have two chapters left, but I wanted to shout about this book from the rooftops that evening.

It’s my favorite “parenting” book, and it’s not really a parenting book. As a new mom, after just a few chapters of this book, I finally exhaled after a solid year of holding my breath. Amster-Burton gives you a glimpse into his experiences as a stay-at-home dad raising his daughter Iris. He is completely unpretentious and hilarious. There is no fear-mongering in this book. Instead it’s full of ideas of what you can do with your child, not what you can’t do, and what you shouldn’t or even should. I’ve found it completely liberating and have let go of any neurosis I had when it came to feeding Marlo.

Each amusing chapter begins with a series of anecdotes all related to a theme. Most are about about eating, cooking, grocery shopping, but some aren’t. At the end of each chapter, Amster-Burton provides you with a handful of recipes mentioned in the stories. The recipes sound scrumptious, and I can’t wait to try them all.

Here, I’ll make it easy for you. Get out your credit card, click this link, buy the book, thank me later.

On a side note, I’ll be MIA for a few days. My research paper that I’ve been sitting on for a year now is due on Monday. Yikes! Hope you have a better weekend than me!

1 Response to “Hungry Monkey”


  1. 1 pete August 9, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    my pregnant sister-in-law will now be receiving this book in september when she gives birth to her second baby boy. takk for the tip. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 61 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


