Old Fashioned Doughnut Hole Muffins

DSC03360

Why is the question always “What’s your favorite flavor of ice cream?”

Isn’t “What’s your favorite doughnut flavor?” just as important!

Maybe people aren’t as loyal to one flavor of doughnut as they are to their favorite ice cream flavor. However, I harbor extreme loyalty for my doughnut preference. When I was a kid I loved strawberry ice cream and strawberry frosting on my doughnuts, and I simply will not touch a doughnut that’s been injected with anything – jelly, cream, whatever – yuck! I don’t want a gooey surprise. I knew my hunch that I married the male version of my sister was more than just a hunch when I discovered they both only ate chocolate glazed doughnuts. That means something. It’s gotta. But as for my favorite flavor of doughnut now, I like my doughnuts to have a little more history. I shun the modern. I prefer the Old Fashioned kind. Old Fashioned Cake, Old Fashioned Glazed, Old Fashioned just plain fried dough is just plain great to dunk in my coffee (listen to me, I sound like an old man.) And these muffins, my friends, mimic the taste of old fashioned doughnuts. The kind that is just fried dough then rolled in sugar. Yeah that kind.

But don’t fret. There’s no yeast here. No rising dough. No frying. Just a couple bowls and traditional muffin ingredients – that I almost guarantee you already have in your pantry right now. (Ahem, which is exactly why these were made in the first place!) So skip the trip to the doughnut shop and make these instead.

Old Fashioned Doughnut Muffins
Adapted from Baking Bites

3/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking power
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp butter, melted
1/2 cup sugar, for rolling

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a mini-muffin tin with cooking spray. (you can use standard muffin tins if you prefer, you may just need to bake a minute or two longer)
2. In a large bowl, cream sugar and egg until light in color.
3. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg. Add to egg mixture and stir to combine. Pour in vegetable oil, milk and vanilla extract.
4. Divide batter evenly into 24 mini muffin cups, filling each about 3/4 full. (you may have a little bit extra batter for 2 more mini muffins, if it’s worth your trouble)
5. Bake for 14-15 minutes, until a tester inserted into the center comes out clean.
6. While muffins are baking, melt butter and pour remaining sugar into a small bowl.
7. When muffins are done, lightly brush the top of each with some melted butter, remove from the pan and roll in sugar. Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 24-26 mini muffins (doughnut holes).

0 Responses to “Old Fashioned Doughnut Hole Muffins”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 59 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

