Tissue Paper Pom Pom Centerpieces

I’ve thrown two parties in my life. My wedding and Marlo’s first birthday. I think spending a ton of money on decorations is stupid. My theory is that people would much rather have better food or free booze than a wilting flower in the middle of the table. Feel free to disagree with me.

For my wedding, I crafted dozens of giant paper magnolias from Paper Source. I calculated it cost about $8.00 a table, most of the cost deriving from the giant glass globe they were arranged in. But it took weeks of work and many hands. I had neither the time or help to prepare decorations of that caliber for Marlo’s party.

tissuepuffs

To be honest, I hadn’t thought about decorations for her party until the day before. I remembered seeing an idea for tissue paper pom poms in Martha Stewart Living a few years back. She suspended hers from the ceiling. I was way to lazy to even think about how I’d get that done, so I improvised and just made these half-globes and set them on the table. I think they looked pretty good and took very little time and money. Try them next time you need a quick and easy centerpiece.

1. You’ll need about 8-10 sheets of tissue paper stacked neatly. Feel free to mix up colors and get creative. You can cut the paper into smaller sizes for smaller pom poms, too.

Pictures

2. Arrange the stack of paper so the length runs up and down. Make 1 1/2 inch accordion folds all the way through the pile, creasing firmly with each fold.

3. Secure a 6 inch piece of floral wire in the center of the folded tissue paper.

Pictures1

4. Using sharp scissors, trim the ends of the tissue paper into either a pointed or rounded edge.

5. Lay the folded tissue paper flat on your work surface, and proceed to gently separate and lift each sheet of tissue paper from the center.

Pictures2

6. Fluff as needed.

DSC02196

You’ll have a lot of tissue trimmings. I snipped them into small pieces and used them as table confetti.

Pictures3

Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

