Garlic-Lime Chicken

DSC01509

I’m flirting with going vegetarian.

I’m reading up on different kinds of grains, beans and legumes. I dream about finding joy in bowls full of greens. I constantly (weekly) ask my husband if he thinks he could go meat-free (the answers are always inconclusive -or- NO).

But for now, I’ll try and focus on eating healthier meats.

Like chicken.

If you’re anything like me, you eat a TON of chicken. Gaggles of chickens… or is it flocks? or…herds? I’m not great at my collective animal term knowledge.

I think chicken is the healthiest lean protein to eat (aside from fish – but I’m not in Seattle here) and one of the cheapest to get all natural, free range, or organic. So let’s pass up the ground chuck for some beautiful, pink, glistening chicken breasts; and, you know cook ‘em up in a tasty way.

This is where I run into problems. I’m so bored with my chicken recipes and I’m always on the hunt for new ones that don’t take a lot of time or fancy ingredients.

Here’s one that’s great. All the ingredients you probably already have, and it takes no time at all and barely any effort. Crack open a Corona with these.

Garlic-Lime Chicken
Adapted from All Recipes

3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/8 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried parsley
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves

2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 teaspoons garlic powder
3 tablespoons lime juice

1. In a small bowl, mix together salt, black pepper, cayenne, paprika, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, onion powder, thyme and parsley. Sprinkle spice mixture generously on both sides of chicken breasts.
2. Heat butter and olive oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Saute chicken until golden brown, about 6 minutes on each side. Sprinkle with 2 teaspoons garlic powder and lime juice. Cook 5 minutes, stirring frequently to coat evenly with sauce.

64 Responses to “Garlic-Lime Chicken”


  1. 1 rita July 1, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    looks good… nothing better than an easy, tasty chicken recipe!

  2. 2 oneordinaryday July 1, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Sounds like a great chicken recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

  3. 4 Tina Turner July 22, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I just made this for dinner…. YUM =)
    It was light and flavorful and not to mention, my favorite thing of all, EASY!

    Thanks for a great recipe.

  4. 6 Libby April 7, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    This is one of my favorite chicken recipes! It’s so good and soooo easy. I like it as part of my dinner with veggies and a pasta side or I make extra to cut up and put in a salad for lunch. It’s seriously amazing!

  5. 7 AJ July 12, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Tried this tonight. It was great and super easy. I did not add the second round of garlic and used all the spice rub on 2 chicken breasts. I served it with Pioneer Woman’s Simple Sesame Noodles (used half the sugar and added sesame seeds) and some sugar snap peas along with a lime wedge to squirt some more juice. It was soooo good and plan to make it again. THANKS!!

    • 8 Mikelle March 3, 2012 at 6:07 pm

      Wow! that sounds like a great meal! i might have to try it for dinner tonight! Just love PW’s sesame noodles, they’re one of my go to easy meals and the idea of combining this chicken recipe with them sounds Delish!

  6. 9 Laura February 20, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Yes. Yes, yes, yes. This is delicious. My husband said, “There’s only one thing wrong; there isn’t enough.” (There was plenty, actually.) I struggle so much trying to find things he’ll actually eat, so I am totally keeping this one around. Thank you!

  7. 10 Megan March 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I made this for my flatmate and her Italian boyfriend tonight. They sung its praises incessantly and he even said it was one of the best chicken recipes he had ever tasted in his life. I wish I could have taken more credit, but it was so super-easy, I hardly did anything at all!

    Definitely one for the archives.

    Thanks for sharing!

  8. 11 Tiffany May 14, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Thanks so much for this simple recipe! We made it almost exactly as directed; we don’t have cayenne so we used a store-brand chili powder, and we omitted parsley as we don’t have that either. Cooked it up in a cast iron pan, and it looked beautiful – and tasted even better! We’ll be adding this to our repertoire; thanks!

  9. 12 Crystal September 6, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    This was amazing! My 2 year old ate more of this than i have ever seen her eat of any meat! My husband and i seriously thought about soaking up all the juice from the pan with bread. it was so good, I cant say it enough!

  10. 13 Srujana October 2, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    I made this last night and it was SO great! I tweaked it, per what I had on hand, but it was still a hit with my bf. I omitted the paprika, garlic and onion powder, and added chili powder, garlic paste, cilantro, and a ton of lime juice. I paired it with sautéed broccoli and penne with sun-dried tomato pesto and it was simply amazing. I have extra chicken marinating in this rub in the fridge, waiting to be cooked this evening. Thanks for the recipe…and for enabling me to make dinner in about 20 min :)

  11. 14 Sophia October 13, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    This was an easy recipe! I tried it last week and it turned out wonderful! I made it for a workplace gathering for my coworkers so I was really nervous about trying a new recipe. I’m happy I took the chance, several people asked me for your recipe!

  12. 15 bailey October 18, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    my husband & i both LOVED this recipe! making it again tonight. :]

  13. 16 Tobe October 22, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Pardon me, but English isn’t my native language, and thus, I was wondering, does “cook” mean literally put into boiling water, or just continue frying?

  14. 18 Anonymous November 7, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    I made this last night and it was AMAZING. So easy and so tasty. We didn’t even need a knife it was so tender. The spices are perfect – I would not change a thing. This is definitely something I will make regularly.

  15. 19 Brett November 14, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    This was sooo good!!! My husband and I loved it!! I like to try new things and this is one I will definitely do again!!!

  16. 20 Willy December 29, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    This looks great, dying to try it!

  17. 21 Anonymous December 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Just made this for dinner tonight. It’s cheap, healthy, and really good. Great for a college student like myself. Thanks for posting!

  18. 22 Hilda January 3, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    I enjoy all types of veggies too, but my biggest weakness is the occasional good ol’ hamburger. I have also tittered with becoming a vegetarian, but I know that i will need much more discipline. Good luck to you!

  19. 23 Anonymous February 2, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    its realllly goooddd!!!!! i loved the recipe :) def keeping it in my recipes book! :)

  20. 24 Anonymous February 8, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Delicious and super easy! I didn’t have onion powder and it was still great. Next time I’ll try reducing the salt because I bet it’ll still be tasty. Thanks for sharing!

  21. 25 Alexandria Sheedy February 11, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    I love this recipe, but I was wondering if it would still taste as good without the lime? And If you can cook it in the oven? if so, for how long and at what temp?

    • 26 randomanderson February 11, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      It would probably still have plenty of flavor without the lime, but I think the acidity of the lime juice really balances the flavors and makes it perfect. But if you don’t have a lime around, I’m sure you’d still get a great tasting chicken breast without it. As for baking it, you could, but I think I’d still sear in the pan over a medium high flame first for 2 minutes on each side then throw the pan in the oven at 400 for 8-12 minutes, really depending on the size of the breasts.

  22. 27 Lindsay February 11, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Thanks for the awesome recipe! I made this for dinner tonight, and will definitely make it again! It was super simple and very fast, and it was delicious. I cooked some quinoa while I cooked the chicken, and when the chicken was done, I tossed the quinoa in the pan to soak up the leftover spices.

  23. 30 Anonymous February 11, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    This was amazing! My husband is not a chicken fan and he said this is the best chicken he has had in a long time!!! Thank you so much.

  24. 31 Anonymous March 7, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I thought I was all prepared to make this chicken tonight. I don’t have lime juice, only lemon juice. Think it will be good using it instead?

  25. 33 Anonymous March 10, 2012 at 9:56 am

    this is my 16 y.o. son’s favorite recipe!

  26. 34 Geanina March 14, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    i just finished fixing this receipe and its absolutely delicious. The chicken is very flavorful. I served it with a mix of steamed brown and white rice.

    • 35 Cat April 16, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      While my husband enjoyed it …. the family all agreed that the amount of garlic powder in there really overpowered. Was good – but I would use only maybe 1/2 tsp. or so of galic powder with the lime.

  27. 36 beadersresourceguide April 21, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Just wanted to thank you for posting this recipe. I came across it via Pinterest. Made it for dinner last night and it was excellent! It earned the comment of “This is good chicken, you should make this again” from my husband. Not everything I make gets that! He’s not a huge garlic fan, so I didn’t add the extra at the end, but I did sprinkle on some Tastefully Simple Garlic Garlic instead. The lime adds just the right touch too. Loved it and will definitely make it again! Thinking of making a little jar of the seasoning mix up ahead of time to make it even quicker to prepare again.

  28. 39 Jeni April 24, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    This is absolutely awesome! And suuuuuper easy!

  29. 40 Alex May 16, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    This is a tasty, easy recipe. We cook it a few times per month. What I like most about this recipe is that we always have all of the ingredients, so it doesn’t require a trip to the grocery store!

  30. 41 Kristen June 3, 2012 at 10:08 am

    Quick question, the chicken breasts we buy are usually pretty thick, would you recommend halving the so they are thinner? I’m new when it comes to cooking with poultry!

    • 42 randomanderson June 3, 2012 at 10:35 am

      You could cut them thinner, but unless you have an extremely sharp knife you’ll probably just butcher them. Instead I recommend pounding them thin. Put the breasts on a flat surface, cover with a sheet of plastic wrap, and violently smack them thin with a meat mallet or even a fry pan or heavy rolling pin. I usually pound my chicken breasts thin. They’ll cook twice as fast.

  31. 44 Anonymous June 6, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    I made this for dinner tonight, and it was good! I cut my chicken up into chunks first and then cooked it – it is a light and mild flavor that goes well with the chicken. Nice way to use a variety of spices in my cooking!

  32. 45 Jessica August 21, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    This chicken was amazing! Was even better the next day in a salad. I’m thinking it might be awesome to turn into fajitas as well.

  33. 46 danielwalldammit September 2, 2012 at 3:19 am

    Interesting combination, garlic and lime. Sounds very promising.

  34. 47 thepinkgourmet September 3, 2012 at 11:18 am

    This sounds yummy!! I am going to try this…

  35. 48 Amber September 21, 2012 at 11:06 am

    I try to make recipes more healthy whenever possible. I omitted the butter and oil and mixed the lime juice and seasonings together in a bowl. I put each piece of chicken in tin foil and used a basting brush to apply the seasoning mixture. I closed each piece or tin foil and baked it at 375* for 45 minutes. It came out so juicy and tender and was delicious! My kids loved it too :)

  36. 50 Lisa @ Fern Creek Cottage September 28, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    Very yummy and so quick and easy! Wonderful recipe!

  37. 51 Lynette Combee November 28, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    THIS IS THE BEST CHICKEN I HAVE EVER EVER MADE!! Also since I used fresh limes my house whole smells so good!!

  38. 52 Elizabeth January 9, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    I’ve made this a few times and is definitely one of my favourite chicken recipes! I usually make a little extra and the next day I slice it up and put it in a pan with some red peppers, onion, a little olive oil and hot sauce then onto a tortilla with some salsa and its so good!
    Thanks so much, will definitely keep making this!!

  39. 53 Anonymous January 17, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    Just made this! SO much flavor! The only changes I made was that I substituted paprika for SMOKED paprika(I love that stuff) and I only used 1 tsp of garlic powder with the fresh lime juice. It came out PERFECT!

  40. 54 Anonymous February 13, 2013 at 8:18 am

    I found this receipe a few months ago and have made it several times since then. I absolutely love this chicken and everyone I’ve made it for cant get enough!!!

  41. 55 sammie June 3, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    I’ve made this chicken recipe about 5 times and I love it! The only thing I omit is the butter and it tastes absolutely amazing! This is a wonderful recipe for those doing the Whole30 and I have passed it around many times!


  1. 1 deessadomestica Trackback on July 6, 2011 at 9:54 am
  2. 2 Mexican Night « Tied Up With String Trackback on July 26, 2011 at 8:04 pm
  3. 3 Garlic Lime Chicken « allbetternow Trackback on October 17, 2011 at 9:17 pm
  4. 4 This Week’s Menu | the apartment girlfriend Trackback on January 18, 2012 at 1:44 am
  5. 5 Recipe: Garlic Lime Chicken « A Simple Southern Life Trackback on January 31, 2012 at 10:13 pm
  6. 6 Next step! No Grain? « schmidtadventures Trackback on February 7, 2012 at 1:33 am
  7. 7 10 Dinner Options for the Week | GIF Peanut Butter Trackback on April 8, 2012 at 2:27 pm
  8. 8 dinners | Pearltrees Trackback on April 15, 2012 at 11:49 pm
  9. 9 Yummy Chicken Dish – Garlic-Lime Chicken « Nothing's On Fire… Trackback on April 21, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Quantcast

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Archives

Find an Old Post by Category


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

